Dog License

ARTICLE 7 RELATES TO THE LICENSING, IDENTIFICATION AND CONTROL OF DOGS AND THE ANIMAL POPULATION CONTROL PROGRAM IN NEW YORK STATE AND IS ADMINISTERED BY THE NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND MARKETS. DOGS HARBORED IN NEW YORK CITY, HOWEVER, MUST BE LICENSED BY THE NEW YORK CITY DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH. LOCAL OFFICIALS, GENERALLY ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICERS OR DOG CONTROL OFFICERS, ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR ENFORCING ARTICLE 7.

WHAT DOGS MUST BE LICENSED?

Every dog owned or harbored in New York State for longer than 30 days must be licensed. The following are the only license exemptions: ~Dogs under four months of age not running at large ~Dogs harbored in New York City (these dogs must be licensed by the NYC Department of Health) ~If a non-resident brings a dog into New York State for less than 30 days and the dog is licensed according to the resident state’s licensing laws ~Dogs confined to the premises of any public or private hospital, research institution or a Class A Dealer with a certificate of exemption from the Commissioner.

HOW TO LICENSE YOUR DOG

~Apply for a dog license at your local licensing agent. This would be the clerk of the town, city, or in some counties village. ~For guide dogs, war dogs, hearing dogs, police work dogs, detection dogs, therapy dogs and service dogs, satisfactory proof is required, such as a training certificate, etc. for licenses.

* IN ADDITION TO THE APPLICATION THE OWNER WILL NEED: if the dog is spayed or neutered - a certificate from a licensed veterinarian or an affidavit from the owner showing that the dog has been spayed or neutered, unless this proof is already on file with the clerk.

ALL dogs three months or older must have proof of a rabies vaccination signed by a licensed veterinarian or a certificate stating why the life of the dog would be endangered by the vaccine.

After the application and appropriate certificates are filed and the license fee has been paid, the license will be validated for one year. Each dog is assigned a permanent official identification (ID) number and issued a metal ID tag which is to be attached to the dog’s collar. NO REFUND WILL BE MADE AFTER A LICENSE HAS BEEN VALIDATED.

IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN A PUREBRED LICENSE, CONTACT YOU’RE THE TOWN CLERK.
LICENSE FEES

The statutory license fees are:

~for SPAYED OR NEUTERED dogs: $6.00 ($1.00 of this fee is used to fund the Animal Population Control Program) ~ for UN-SPAYED OR UN-NEUTERED dogs: $21.00 ($3.00 of this fee is used to fund the Animal Population Control Program) ~for GUIDE, WAR, HEARING, POLICE WORK, WORKING SEARCH, SERVICE, DETECTION, or THERAPY dogs: NO FEE

* License renewal forms will be mailed directly to the dog owner by the Town Clerk’s Office: 

	Dog Fees
	State Fee
	Town Fee
	T

	Male neutered*
	1.00
	6.00
	

	Female spayed*
	1.00
	6.00
	

	Male unneutered
	3.00
	21.00
	

	Female unspayed
	3.00
	21.00
	

	Purebred License (1-10)
	+ 3.00  per dog
	30.00
	

	Purebred License (11-25)
	+ 3.00  per dog
	60.00
	

	Purebred License (26- )
	+ 3.00  per dog
	100.00 
	


*Certificate of neutering or spaying must accompany application for license, unless one is already on file. 

**Purebreds add additional $3.00 per each unspayed/unneutered dog.

A license is required by NYS law for all dogs when 4 months old. A rabies certificate showing proof of current vaccination is needed for a license. Licenses may be sent for by mail. Enclose a self addressed, stamped envelope for return by mail, or pick them up at Town Clerk’s Office. Mailing address: 10 Hunter St. PO Box 249, Bergen, NY 14416. Telephone:  494-1121 Ext. 21.  Renewals after dog is licensed: The Town Clerk will send an owner the renewal form. If you do not receive it one year after dog is licensed, let us know. Please notify this office promptly of any changes in address, ownership, or the death of the dog. Thank you for your consideration and help.

LOCAL DOG CONTROL SERVICES

Every licensing town, city or village must have a Dog Control Officer (DCO) and municipal shelter services. The DCO and shelter service enforces both State and any local dog laws and ordinances. Further, it is the DCO’s responsibility to pick up lost and stray dogs and humanely care for them until they can be reunited with their owners.

IF YOUR DOG IS LOST OR YOU FIND A LOST DOG, IMMEDIATELY CONTACT GENESEE COUNTY ANIMAL CONTROL AT 344-6410.  
